Nashville Metro Government turns Fifty

news admin

The Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County is turning fifty.
The consolidated city-county form of local government was chosen by voters in an election on June 28, 1962. After elections, metro government came into being on April 1, 1963.
Since that time, two other Tennessee metro governments have been formed - Lynchburg-Moore County in 1988 and Hartsville-Trousdale County in 2001.
The National League of Cities says only forty metro governments exist nationwide. Among them are Indianapolis, San Francisco, Denver and Philadelphia.
Metro Nashville Mayor Karl Dean said the consolidated government is a huge part of the city's economic prosperity.


How often do you visit

  • Daily
  • Weekly
  • Monthly or less