General Mills issues voluntary Cheerios recall
[gtxvideo vid=”AoK3ImzL” playlist=”” pid=”OTSe9U1y” thumb=”http://player.gtxcel.com/thumbs/AoK3ImzL.jpg” vtitle=”Cheerios Recall”]
JACKSON, Tenn. — If you or a loved one has a wheat allergy or intolerance, you may want to double-check your Cheerios. General Mills is volunteering to recall 1.8 million boxes of their Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios, all packaged in California. The boxes, which all claim to be gluten free, still contain wheat. Those boxes have “best if used by” dates of July 12 through July 25 and the plant code “LD,” indicating the product was manufactured at the Lodi, Calif., facility where the wheat was inadvertently included. Products containing wheat can cause illness or severe reactions in those with wheat allergies or celiac disease, according to a release. Products containing wheat also can cause illness or discomfort for individuals with gluten intolerance.