Small Business Administration announces disaster aid

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – Tennessee businesses and residents affected by severe weather last month can apply for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

SBA Administrator Maria Contreras-Sweet announced Thursday the loans will be available in response to a letter from Gov. Bill Haslam. An SBA disaster declaration covers Stewart and Sumner counties, as well as the adjacent counties of Benton, Davidson, Henry, Houston, Macon, Montgomery, Robertson, Trousdale and Wilson in Tennessee; and Allen, Calloway, Christian, Simpson and Trigg in Kentucky.

The assistance is for those affected by flash flooding, damaging winds and large hail on July 6 through July 8.

The SBA office for Stewart County will open Friday and will remain open through Thursday, except Sunday, at Stewart County Fire Rescue Station 1 in Dover.

The SBA office for Sumner County will be open the same dates, at the Gallatin Civic Center.