Tennessee looks to stave off $60M penalty for DUI law
NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – Tennessee lawmakers are planning to pass legislation Wednesday to effectively repeal a new state law about underage drunken driving that threatens to cost the state $60 million in federal road money.
The law that went into effect in July had raised the penalties for driving under the influence by 18- through 20-year-olds. But the measure ran afoul of federal zero-tolerance standards for underage drivers by raising the maximum allowable blood alcohol content from 0.02 percent to 0.08 percent.
Gov. Bill Haslam has called lawmakers into a special session this week to eliminate nearly all provisions of the new law, returning the 0.02 percent rule and the more lenient penalties for all drivers beneath the drinking age.
Both the House and Senate are expected vote on the bill Wednesday.