4 finalists named for PAEMST award

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Tennessee Department of Education says there are four finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching.

The TDOE says the three are:

  • Emily McDonald, Mathematics, Red Bank High School, Hamilton County Schools
  • Amber Vinson, Mathematics, Intrepid Opportunity Academy, Intrepid College Preparatory Charter School
  • Mike French, Science, Northview Middle School, Dyer County Schools
  • Jessica Ghazi, Science, The Howard School, Hamilton County Schools

“Tennessee educators are always going above and beyond the call of duty. These four finalists have showcased their skills and elevated the standards for other educators in Tennessee and the nation,”
said Interim Commissioner Samuel Pearcy. “We are grateful to have extraordinary educators that value innovation through STEM learning and teaching.”

Visit the PAEMST website for more information.

You can find more news from across the state here.

Categories: Local News, News, Tennessee News