FHU’s Boehler Named Co-Player of the Year

Freed-Hardeman University’s Meribeth Boehler (Ramer, Tenn.) was named 2011 NAIA Division I Women‘s Basketball Co-National Player of the Year alongside Campbellsville University’s Whitney Ballinger, Tuesday night. The All-Tournament Team was also announced at the Oman Arena. National champions Azusa Pacific landed a trio of players on the All-Tournament Team, with Eboni Sadler earning First-Team honors and Brianna Hall and Alex Moore-Porter named to the Second Team. Zeinab Chan and Kayla Hudson were both named to the First Team for Union University. Maria Bagwell of Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) received the Hustle Award and teammate Meribeth Boehler was named the National Championship‘s Most Valuable Player. The senior post averaged 26 points and 13.5 rebounds per game while leading the Lady Lions to their third appearance in the semifinals. Boehler is the first Freed-Hardman player to earn the distinction. Boehler and Campbellsville‘s (Ky.) Whitney Ballinger were named 2011 NAIA Division I Co-National Player of the Year. Boehler led the nation in scoring during her senior campaign, averaging 23.6 per game. Ballinger was right behind her at 22.7 a game. Ballinger was also named Co-National Player of the year in 2010. Boehler is the first Lady Lion to earn the honor. After leading his team to its first-ever National Championship, T.J. Hardeman was name the Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year. “To work hard towards a goal and achieve it is the meaning of satisfaction,” Hardeman said. All-Tournament First Team Meribeth Boehler, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Sarah Chan, Union (Tenn.) Kayla Hudson, Union (Tenn.) Eboni Sadler, Azusa Pacific (Calif.) Whitney Ballinger, Campbellsville (Ky.) All-Tournament Second Team Ashley Rainey, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) Natalie Shumpert, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Abby Ballman, Shawnee State (Ohio) Brianna Hall, Azusa Pacific (Calif.) Alex Moore-Porter, Azusa Pacific (Calif.) Hustle Award Maria Bagwell, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Most Valuable Player Meribeth Boehler, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) 2011 NAIA Division I Women‘s Basketball Co-National Player of the Year Whitney Ballinger, Campbellsville (Ky.) Maribeth Boehler, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.) Phyllis Holmes Coach of the Year T.J. Hardeman, Azusa Pacific (Calif.)

Categories: Local News
Share this...
Share on Facebook
Tweet about this on Twitter