Incoming Sen. Lee Harris elected Democratic leader

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – Incoming state Sen. Lee Harris of Memphis has been elected leader of the Senate Democratic Caucus.

The caucus held its elections on Tuesday.

Incoming Sen. Jeff Yarbro of Nashville was elected caucus chairman.

Both men, who are attorneys, were nominated by Memphis Sen. Sara Kyle, who is taking over the seat once occupied by her husband, former Democratic Leader Jim Kyle. He is currently serving on the Shelby County Chancery Court bench.

Republicans control the state Senate 28-5.

Harris defeated former Sen. Ophelia Ford in the August primary.