Tennessee lawmakers re-elect treasurer, comptroller

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) – A joint session of the Tennessee House and Senate has approved new terms for two of the state’s constitutional officers.

Comptroller Justin Wilson and Treasurer David Lillard were elected Wednesday to their fourth two-year terms. Wilson, Lillard and Secretary of State Tre Hargett were each first elected in 2009 after Republicans gained control of the Legislature.

Hargett is in the middle of a four-year term so he didn’t have to stand for re-election.

Wilson is a Nashville tax attorney who as an aide to then-Gov. Don Sundquist was a prominent supporter for a failed effort to impose a state income tax in 2002. Lillard, of Germantown, is a former member of the Shelby County commission and a financial and tax attorney.