THP warns drivers to ‘move over’

[gtxvideo vid=”87olWhBj” playlist=”” pid=”OTSe9U1y” thumb=”http://player.gtxcel.com/thumbs/87olWhBj.jpg” vtitle=”Move Over Campaign”]

JACKSON, Tenn. — Move over or get pulled over. That‘s the message from the Tennessee Highway Patrol. Troopers say state law requires drivers to move over into the other lane of traffic, when it is safe to do so, or slow down for emergency vehicles. Violating the “Move Over Law” in Tennessee comes with a maximum fine of up to $500 and possibly up to 30 days in jail. “There‘s no excuse for running over someone trying to do their job on the highway,” Lt. Brad Wilbanks said. “I’ve had tractor-trailers come by and clip the back of my hat before. That‘s ridiculous. That‘s too close.” According to the Tennessee Department of Safety and Homeland Security, the THP issued 25 “move over” citations in Madison County last year.

Categories: Local News, News, Video